A Tiny Feast was a surprise to me as it combined two things I never thought could intertwine before, the king and Queen of Fairies within one of Shakespeare’s plays fused with the horror and drama of child cancer. I couldn’t make this up. Being one who has not even heard of Oberon or Titania but has read of the problems cancer has caused I felt uncomfortable with this story. It portrayed Cancer well without feeling like it would be insulting to those who have faced cancer themselves. Even though it took me time to grow used to Oberon and Titania’s view on humanity as a whole this long story showed me the emotions a mother would have through this ordeal while not seeming overwhelming. http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2009/04/20/a-tiny-feast

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *