For my April reading, I read a book that I owned but had never read. “Sketches of Life and Character”  was published in 1853, and consists of several real stories that the author found amusing. I bought this in an old bookstore in Seattle, but had never got around to reading it. I enjoyed the book, and found that there was plenty of odd and amusing news. Even in the 19th century. The language used is obviously that of its time, so I’m not sure if I would recommend it to most people. If you have no problem with old literature, and enjoy that time period, I’d say this is a great book.  I couldn’t find a picture of the cover, since the book seems to be rather forgotten about, but here’s one of the drawings used.  Sketches OF LIFE

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *