Let's go!
Let’s go!

 

January is gone, but not forgotten: we have one text we struggled with so I say we check “a book that intimidates you” off the list. Anyone who’s ever looked at Common Sense by Thomas Paine will agree.

Apparently I use the word 'challenge' too much in my teaching lexicon, so henceforth shall say 'cupcake' instead.
Apparently I use the word ‘challenge’ too much in my teaching lexicon, so henceforth shall say ‘cupcake’ instead.

Your challenge:

Through the rest of this year, read something from the list. Keep track on your road trip navigator, (captain’s log, if you will), and add a blog post to this site. All of my students are invited.

mrslovesreadingchallenge

 

To February!

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

17 thoughts on “The Reading Challenge”

  1. I think the one thing that confused me when reading Common Sense by Thomas Paine is the language and the way the people reacted

  2. This text was challenging for me, and I still don’t feel any where close to knowledgeable about it. I do think I understand some of the basics, though, and these two sites helped me:

    http://www.sparknotes.com/lit/commonsense/summary.html

    and I also found this –http://www.storyboardthat.com/teacher-guide/common-sense-by-thomas-paine

    Basically: King/hereditary lineage bad: People/society good

  3. While reading about Thomas Paine, I was the most confused when it came to having to understand the language and the outcome of how they felt about things at the time.

  4. Agreed: going back over two hundred years of language is difficult. They wouldn’t be able to understand us, either.

  5. My review on Common sense is about it was a little confusing but I understood it was to get the colonists to rebel against the Great Britain.

  6. Reading Common Sense was confusing. The 18th century language was obviously not easy to understand, but also the message was kind of confusing because I didn’t exactly know what he was talking about all the time, because I didn’t exist when it was written.

  7. That is interesting logic: the only problem is there is a lot of things that were written before you were born– don’t let that be an obstacle! 🙂

  8. the thing that was confusing for me was the language and the reaction of the people in the story.

  9. For me, Common sense was hard and confusing because the things that were spoken of were spoken in old English and I didn’t really understand what was trying to be said. Also, it was hard to try to find out what his (Thomas Paine’s) main message was and why he was trying to send it, after some time it became clear what he was trying to say and why. At the end I think that if I was in the war, Common sense would have helped me persevere through the war.

  10. The most toughest part for me when i was reading the common sense by Thomas Paine was the language he used and they way he and others responded to his words.

  11. I thought common sense was slightly confusing since it was written during the time of the 13 colonies, but otherwise I understand what it was meant to do.

  12. To me personally reading common sense was hard because reading in the old English language was confusing and trying to find Paine’s main point was hard at first but after some time to get used to it and some words searched up it started coming together and making sense. It was also hard to find out why he was trying to send his message at first but after time it was clear.

  13. For me, Common sense was hard and confusing because the things that were spoken of were spoken in old English and I didn’t really understand what was trying to be said. Also, it was hard to try to find out what his (Thomas Paine’s) main message was and why he was trying to send it, after some time it became clear what he was trying to say and why. At the end I think that if I was in the war, Common sense would have helped me persevere through the war.

  14. Book: Wonder struck for the month of February under the category of: a book that you can finish in a day.
    http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f4/GuysRead/Wonderstruck_zps3ecf59e2.jpg

    This is a book that can be finished in a day, though it is mainly pictures, the word part if the book tells a story and the picture part tells another, in the end, both stories come together at different times. this book can be finished quickly but has a big message

    Over all, I like this book and think that if anyone has the opportunity to read it, they should and maybe you can learn a little sign language while reading because… well I shouldn’t spoil it, go read it yourself if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *