In the month of June, I read the book What Was the Gold Rush? by Joan Holub. This book fits the category of a book that I have but I previously abandoned. In this novel, you will learn about the the gold rush that started in 1848 in California that made people all around the world travel there because they thought they would strike rich like many others. The miners were nicknamed the “forty-niners” and one fun fact I noticed that was not in the book, is that the miners inspired the name for California’s national football team, the San Fransisco Forty-Niners. Or as Seattle Seahawks fans would say, the Forty-Whiners [Sorry for going really off topic! 😉 ] This book is very, very informative and it will tell you every single detail about what happened in the Gold Rush. I do recommend that you read this book.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *