I am not sure what is up with me this summer, but I didn’t read as many books as I thought I would…but I did read some amazing ones.

My promise/hope is that this year you’ll read with me and we can discover some great stories together. Maybe I just felt too isolated this summer.

So: here are ones I did read. No spoilers, which is why there is an absence of literary analysis.

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jaqueline Woodson

 

This was a great book, and I highly recommend it.

The Dark Thirty: Southern Tales of the Supernatural

I just started reading some of these stories. When we do our “fear” unit in October, we will talk about the nature of fear, and do different cultures fear different things, and why: most importantly, how do we combat what we fear?

Certain Dark Things by Sylvia Moreno Garcia

I loved this book: it is a vampire story from a whole new perspective. I learned so much.

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds is the one I just started (and I’m hooked already).

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Love’s Summer Reading”

  1. I love the idea of your fear unit. What other stories do you use?

  2. There are many resources I pull together, and it changes a bit every year. Please note many of the short films are not appropriate, and you have to know your students.The big questions are what is the nature of fear, how do we use it for our benefit, and how do we manage it? You can use fairy tales, origin stories, to modern day dystopian novels. Here was one post with resources, and I’ll try to curate more soon: http://blog0rama.edublogs.org/2015/07/25/film-festival-fear-unit/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *